Skip to content ↓

St Mary’s C of E Primary School

We are a 'good' school - Ofsted Mar 2019 and 'outstanding' - SIAMS Feb 2016

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The Early Years Foundation Stage at St Mary’s – (Nursery & Reception)

At St Mary’s we follow Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) documentation which focuses on how children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates.

Four guiding principles shape practice in early years settings. These are:

  • every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured;
  • children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships;
  • children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and / or carers; and
  • children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates.

There are seven areas of learning and development that shape the educational programmes in Early Years. The three prime areas of learning and development are:

  • communication and language;
  • physical development; and
  • personal, social and emotional development.

There are four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:

  • literacy;
  • mathematics;
  • understanding the world; and
  • expressive arts and design.

Through careful planning and close teamwork we aim to create a happy and stimulating environment to make your child’s first years at school happy and successful.